Broker Check

 

Tech Tips

Scam Alert: Beware hackers stealing Facebook passwords via malicious video links in instant messages

There’s a new Facebook video scam making the rounds. In this scam you’re sent what appears to be a link to Youtube so you can watch the video there. But there’s a problem: That “Youtube” link won’t take you to Youtube at all. If you click on it you’ll actually end up on a very realistic-looking, but fake Facebook login page. Many users try to login to their Facebook account using the form on the fake login page without giving it a second thought, but all they accomplish is handing over their Facebook login information to the scammers. Luckily, this is a very easy scam to avoid. All you have to do is NEVER click on a link to a video that’s sent to you in a Facebook Instant Message.